All others are completed for 2018.

The Phyllis Jean Callahan Minck Memorial Scholarship

Description: This scholarship was created in March 2010 in memory of Phyllis Jean Callahan Minck through a bequest from the Estate of Marguerite M. Minck, a Danburian who was a local math and Latin high school teacher who later taught at WestConn. The scholarship will be awarded for four (4) consecutive years to a female graduate of Danbury High School who has been accepted and will attend WCSU to major in secondary education.

26 ACT or 1240 SAT and 3.30 Unweighted GPA

  Please note the selection of scholarship recipients is decided by each partner institution.

31 ACT or 1420 SAT and 3.50 Unweighted GPA

Scott Memorial Endowed Scholarship (Dr. Robert M. & Joyce Komanee Scott Scholarship in Astronomy)
Physics, Astronomy, Meteorology

33 ACT or 1490 SAT and 3.80 Unweighted GPA

Description: This memorial scholarship was established in 1997 and is awarded to an astronomy senior or first-year graduate student who is pursuing a degree in astronomy. The scholarship is in memory of Dr. Scott who played an important role in the negotiation of the Perkin Fund, a grant which allowed WCSU to obtain an automated 20-inch RC telescope.

All scholarships are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate studies.

John F. Azzariti Memorial Endowed ScholarshipAccounting

Description: This competitive scholarship, supported by an educational trust established under the will of Douglas P. Jones, supports scholarships for graduates of Connecticut high schools who reside in the state and are enrolled in WCSU’s nursing program.

Award values vary based on meritorious criteria

Description: This scholarship was established by Mario Mesi in memory of his sister, Millicent Ratta, in 2007 for undergraduate nursing majors. The recipients are either incoming students or those entering their junior or senior year. They must be considered nontraditional (older) students, Connecticut residents and demonstrate financial need.

Dante Cirilli/Grolier Direct Marketing ScholarshipMarketing

Description: This scholarship was established in 2008 and celebrates the life and career achievements of Mary Edgett ‘24. This scholarship is awarded annually to a full-time undergraduate student entering junior or senior year and majoring in education. Eligible students must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and have completed a minimum of 60 credits. Recipients should intend to pursue a career in teaching.

Starting at $2,500, with additional funding available for meritorious students

Continuing Student Scholarships

Description: The scholarship was established in 1984 in honor of Arnold C. Brackman, founder of the journalism program at WCSU, to provide scholarships for junior or senior journalism students in good academic standing who have exhibited potential in the field of journalism.

The Application Deadline for the 2018 – 2019 academic year is March 2nd, 2018.

31 ACT or 1420 SAT and 3.50 Unweighted GPA

Description: The Housatonic Industrial Development Corporation (HIDC) created this scholarship in memory of Chuck Wrinn, longtime president of HIDC and avid supporter of WCSU and the Ancell School of Business. The scholarship will be given to a student in the Small Business Management Program who has a minimum GPA of 2.5. He/she must be a Connecticut resident and demonstrate financial need.

Starting at $2,500, with additional funding available for meritorious students

33 ACT or 1490 SAT and 3.80 Unweighted GPA

Description: The Craig Lundwall Memorial Scholarship was established in 2001, shortly after the untimely death of Craig Lundwall, Class of 1998. His parents, family and friends chose to memorialize Craig through an academic and need-based scholarship for a social work major at WestConn. This is a most fitting tribute, since Craig was a true intellectual, cherishing the opportunity to learn and demanding high academic standards of himself and colleagues. It is also fitting that the scholarship be awarded to a social work major with demonstrated financial need, since Craig cared deeply about those in need, serving as their advocate. Only social work majors are eligible. A social work faculty committee selects the recipient. Preference given to a senior social work student.